facebook    twitter    instagram    youtube
Vacancies Contact
Sign in
The governing bodies of Voluntary Aided schools are a combination of appointed and elected members. The foundation governors are appointed by the school's Trustees, the Sisters of Mercy to preserve and develop the religious character of the school and to secure advancement of the Catholic religion and the advancement of education.

Role of the governing body

The role of the governing body is a strategic one, its key functions are in:

  • developing the strategic plan for the school;
  • determining aims, policies and priorities of the school;
  • setting statutory and non statutory targets;
  • monitoring and evaluating the work of the school;
  • the appointment of staff and ensuring the implementation of a range of personnel procedures;
  • the strategic management of the budget;
  • securing high levels of attendance and good standards of pupil behaviour;
  • ensuring that all children in the schools have access to a broad and balanced curriculum which is suitable to age, aptitude and ability, which prepares them for adult life;
  • ensuring the health and safety of pupils and staff.

Role of the headteacher

The headteacher is responsible for the internal organisation and day to day management and control of the school and the implementation of the strategic framework established by the governing body.

Governing Board 2020/21

Headteacher: Mr J Mangan
Chair: Mr C Manning
Vice Chair: Mrs N Smith
Clerk to Governors: Mrs M Pritchard
NameCategoryDate appt'd/
Appointed byTerm of office
Mr Christopher ManningFoundation Governor1 Sept 2020Trustees4 years
Roles: Chair of Governors & Chair of Curriculum Committees
Mrs Johanne BrownParent Governor17 Jun 2019Parent election4 years
Mr Anthony DevineLocal Auth. Governor4 Jun 2019Governing Body4 years
Mrs Ann Marie DimeckFoundation Governor1 Sept 2018Trustees4 years
Mrs Caroline GriecoStaff Governor1 Sept 2017Staff election4 years
Mr Mark GuyersCo-opted Governor1 Oct 2017Governing Body4 years
Mr Barry JudgeParent Governor1 Sept 2017Parent election4 years
Ms Suzanne MainwaringFoundation Governor1 Dec 2019Trustees4 years
Mr Joseph ManganHeadteacher Governor   
Miss Noreen McGinnityFoundation Governor1 Sept 2017Trustees4 years
Mrs Jo PearsonFoundation Governor1 Sept 2017Trustees4 years
Role: Chair of Admissions Committee
Mr Edward RatcliffeCo-opted Governor1 Sept 2019Governing Body4 years
Mrs Judith ReeseFoundation Governor1 Sept 2020Trustees4 years
Mr James RichardsonFoundation Governor1 Sept 2017Trustees4 years
Mrs Noreen SmithFoundation Governor1 Sept 2017Trustees4 years
Role: Chair of Finance & H&S Committee
Mr Paul SymesFoundation Governor1 Oct 2017Trustees4 years
Mr Peter WilliamsFoundation Governor1 Sept 2018Trustees4 years
VacancyFoundation Governor Trustees4 years

Governors who have recently left the Governing Board
NameCategoryDate appt'd/
Appointed byDate LeftTerm of office
Fr J KellyFoundation Governor1 Sept 2017Trustees28 Jan 20204 years
Mr Andrew O'NeillParent Governor1 Sept 2017Parent Election1 Sept 20184 years
Mrs Jennifer PughFoundation Governor1 Sept 2017Trustees31 August 20194 years

Curriculum Finance & H&SAdmissionsStaffing
Mr C ManningMrs N SmithMrs J PearsonMrs J Pearson
Mrs A DevineMr J RichardsonMrs J BrownMrs N Smith
Mrs C GriecoMr P WilliamsMr P SymesMr J Richardson
Mr P SymesMr E RatcliffeMrs J ReeseMr C Manning
Mrs A M DimeckMr P SymesMr M GuyersMiss N McGinnity (sub-group)
Mr P WilliamsMr A DevineMiss N McGinnityMrs A M Dimeck (sub-group)
Mr B Judge  Mr A Devine (sub-group)
Miss N McGinnity   
Mrs J Reese   
Mrs J Brown   

Structure and Responsibilities of the Governing Board and Committees

Register of business interests/school connections/other Governing roles
NameDeclared Details
Mrs A M DimeckGovernor at Holy Rosary Primary
Mrs J BrownGovernor at Archbishop Beck Catholic College
Ms S MainwaringCommunity/Business Governor Litherland High School

Record of Attendance 2020/21
NameScheduled MeetingsMeetings AttendedApologies AcceptedAbsent
Mr C Manning55  
Mrs J Brown541 
Mr A Devine642 
Mrs A M Dimeck44  
Mr C Grieco44  
Mr M Guyers3  3
Mr B Judge44  
Mr J Mangan88  
Ms S Mainwaring33  
Miss N McGinnity55  
Mrs J Pearson44  
Mr E Ratcliffe4 4 
Mrs J Reese541 
Mr J Richardson523 
Mrs N Smith55  
Mr P Symes77  
Mr P Williams66  

Record of Attendance 2019/20
NameScheduled MeetingsMeetings AttendedApologies AcceptedAbsent
Mr C Manning99  
Mrs J Brown752 
Mr A Devine99  
Mrs A M Dimeck651 
Mr C Grieco66  
Mr M Guyers4 13
Mr B Judge77  
Fr J Kelly211 
Ms S Mainwaring33  
Mr J Mangan1313  
Miss N McGinnity77  
Mrs J Pearson651 
Mr E Ratcliffe624 
Mrs J Reese88  
Mr J Richardson862 
Mrs N Smith88  
Mr P Symes1055 
Mr P Williams1010  

Maricourt Catholic High School
Hall Lane
L31 3DZ
© 2021 Maricourt Catholic High School